case of Quebec, each of the twenty-four Senators representing the province shall be appointed for one of the electoral divisions of Lower Canada specified in schedule A to Chapter I of the Consolidated Statutes of Canada". Further, under section 147 of the same Act, it is provided that "in case of the admission to Confederation of Newfoundland or Prince Edward Island, each shall be entitled to a representation in the Senate of four members". "Prince Edward Island when admitted shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the three divisions into which Canada is divided by this Act" and on its admission "the representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick shall, as vacancies occur, be reduced from twelve to ten members respectively" In case of the admission of Newfoundland, the normal membership of the Senate of 72 members was to be increased to 76, while the maximum number (78, sec. 28) was set at 82, sec. 26 containing a provision for the appointment of three or six additional members in certain cases, to represent equally the three divisions of Canada.

By 33 Vict., c. 3, an Act to establish and provide for the government of the province of Manitoba, passed in 1870, the newly formed province was given representation of two members in the Senate, provision being made at the same time for increases in representation to three and four on increases of population, according to the decennial census, to 50,000 and 75,000 respectively. In the following year, British Columbia, on being admitted to the Union by an Imperial Order in Council of May 16, 1871, was given representation by three Senators. Two years later, when Prince Edward Island was admitted to Confederation by an Imperial Order in Council of June 26, 1873, it was granted representation in the Senate of four members under the terms of the British North America Act, as cited above. Thus, in 1873, the seven provinces of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, British Columbia and Prince Edward Island were represented by a total of 77 members in the Senate, their individual representation at the time being 24, 24, 10, 10, 2, 3 and 4 members respectively.

In 1882, following the 1881 census and an increase of population in Manitoba to 62,260 persons, the representation of this province was increased to three members under authority of the Manitoba Act, 1870. Later, by 50-51 Vict., c. 38, an Act of 1887, the representation of the Northwest Territories in the Senate was fixed at two members. A subsequent increase resulted from the growth of population in Manitoba to 152,506, as shown by the census of 1891, the province being granted a fourth senator under the terms of the Manitoba Act of 1870. An Act passed in the session of 1903, 3 Edw. VII, c. 42, provided for an increase in the representation of the Northwest Territories from two to four members, bringing the total representation at this date to 83 members.

On the establishment of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan out of the former Northwest Territories in 1905, under 4-5 Edw. VII, cc. 3 and 42, provision was made for their representation in the Senate by 4 members each, which might be increased by Parliament to 6 on the completion of the next decennial census. This change in representation brought the membership of the Upper Chamber to a total of 87.

In 1915, by an amendment to the British North America Act (5-6 Geo. V, c. 45), an important change was made with regard to the constitution of the Senate. The number of divisions provided for by section 22 of the original Act was increased from three to four, the fourth comprising the four western provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. Each of these provinces was to be represented by 6 members under the Act, the division being thus represented 71120-54